[Random Babbles] A to Z Bookish Survey

Just a little something to pass the time. Jamie of The Perpetual Page-Turner started this survey, and it looked like fun, so I decided to have a go at it.

~ A to Z Bookish Survey ~

Author you’ve read the most books from:

J.K. Rowling. I’ve read 11 of her books = 10 from the Harry Potter universe, 1 crime novel (The Cuckoo’s Calling, though she used a pseudonym, but that counts too, right?)

However, this will soon be exceeded by Rick Riordan. I’ve read 11 of his books so far (5 from the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, and 3 each from the Kane Chronicles and Heroes of Olympus series), but this will become 12 books soon since House of Hades will be released in October and I’m definitely going to read that one!

Best Sequel Ever:

Hmm… I can’t really say for sure. Though Moribito II: Guardian of the Darkness is the one that immediately popped up in my mind. I thought that book transcended its predecessor. It was great to read about Balsa’s backstory. (Also see Hidden Gem Book below)

Currently Reading:

Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire and Stargazer by Patrick Carman

Drink of Choice While Reading:

– I don’t really have any drink by my side while reading, but when I get thirsty, I pour myself a glass of water.

E-reader or Physical Book?

– Physical book, definitely. I like the smell of paper, and love having the book in my hands and turning the pages.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

– Frank or Joe from The Hardy Boys. They seem nice and gentlemanly, and I’m sure they’d help me out and save me if I get myself in some kind of trouble. They also sound awesome doing detective work and stuff, plus they’re friends with Nancy Drew!

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Book 1) by Rick Riordan.

I saw the movie before I read the book. I thought the movie was alright and it had potential. It caught my interest because it had elements of Greek mythology. I’m so glad I decided to read the book because it was way, way better than the movie and I very much enjoyed reading it (and the entire series!)

Hidden Gem Book:

Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit and Moribito II: Guardian of the Darkness, both by Nahoko Uehashi. Really good books! (recommended for ages 12 and up)

Guardian of the Spirit was adapted into anime in 2007, and that adaptation was superb. That was how I learned about this book. Luckily, about a year later Scholastic had both novels translated from Japanese to English, and I was more than happy to get myself a copy of the books. Unfortunately, the books didn’t do as well as they probably should in the North American market, and so far, I don’t think Scholastic has any plans to have the rest of the Moribito series translated (8 or 10 books in the series, I think).

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

– Meeting friends who also have a passion for reading. I love swapping books with them, recommending (or not recommending) books to each other, and discussing things we enjoyed (or not enjoyed) about the books we’ve read.

Just Finished:

The Warlock (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, Book 5) by Michael Scott

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

– Although I prefer to read teen fiction/YA and middle grade books, I read many books from other literary genres too. I’ve inadvertently read a few books with some steamy scenes, but I’m sure I won’t ever deliberately read any erotica. I simply don’t like reading books with such explicit content.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Novels and Stories, Volume I by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (1059 pages). I admire Sherlock Holmes! I wish my deductive skills were as good as his.

** easy way to find this out. Go to your Goodreads “read” list, don’t scroll down but where you are on the screen there will be this little tab on the bottom that lets you choose how you want to scroll or how many books you want display. There is also a sort option with a drop down and you can sort by page. (thanks to Jamie of The Perpetual Page-Turner for this tip!)

Major book hangover because of:

– I usually get a book hangover after reading a book that I really, really enjoyed. This tends to happen often with serial novels, like Percy Jackson and Harry Potter, where I can hardly wait to know what happens next in the story and to the characters.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

– Two. One is full, but I still have some room in the other, just waiting for new books to take residence!

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

– I’ve re-read several books, but I’ll go ahead and name a “chick lit” called Family Trust by Amanda Brown, which I’ve read quite a few times. I find myself reaching for it whenever I want something for easy reading. It’s a romantic comedy, and the story is nice and fun.

Preferred Place To Read:

– Anywhere with a comfortable seat will do. Sometimes, even not-so-comfortable seats will do (just so I can grab the chance to read!)

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

– There are so many book quotes that I like, it’d be impossible to include them all in this post! Here’s a couple of them:

  • “Life is a series of pulls back and forth. You want to do one thing, but you are bound to do something else. Something hurts you, yet you know it shouldn’t. You take certain things for granted, even when you know you should never take anything for granted.”
  • “Everyone knows they’re going to die,’ he said again, ‘but nobody believes it. If we did, we would do things differently.”

― both from Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

Reading Regret:

– I wouldn’t have minded not ever reading Neil Gaiman’s American Gods. I know a lot of people sing praises about it, but I just didn’t like it. It just wasn’t my cup of tea, I guess. To each his own, no?

Series You Started And Need To Finish (all books are out in series):

Moribito series by Nahoko Uehashi.

Like I said earlier, Scholastic had the first two books in the series translated from Japanese to English. Unfortunately, they didn’t do as well as they probably should in the North American market, and so far, I don’t think Scholastic has any plans to have the rest of the Moribito series translated. So unless I advance really, really quickly in Japanese language classes, I doubt I’ll ever be able to finish this fantastic series. A pity, really. 😦

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

  1. Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
  2. Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom
  3. A tie between the Harry Potter series and the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series. (I know, I know, it’s probably cheating that it’s a tie and a series)

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

Nancy Drew books. I loved reading these when I was in high school (and I still do!) These really started my love for the crime/mystery genre (eventually leading me to the great Sherlock Holmes). Sure they can be predictable sometimes and some books are better than others, but I still like reading them!

The Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys SuperMystery books are my favorites, particularly the ones published from 1988 to 1998 by Archway Paperbacks/Simon & Schuster.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

WARP: The Reluctant Assassin by Eoin Colfer (I’ve been trying to get my hands on it since it was published this year,it’s always out of stock in our local bookstores), and 2 books from The Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan: House of Hades (to be released this October!)  and the fifth book in the series to be released in 2014.

Worst Bookish Habit:

– If the book gets too descriptive (like landscapes and stuff), I tend to just skim through it. I did that a lot when I read Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings trilogy and The Hobbit *sheepish grin*

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

Maya by Jostein Gaarder it’s a work of fiction with philosophical elements, like questions about life and such. It left me a bit puzzled after reading it, but I liked it and it’s one of my favorite books.

Your latest book purchase:

Split Second by David Baldacci (saved some money too because I got it from a secondhand bookshop!)

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, Book 1) by Michael Scott. I read it while I was about to go to bed and I got hooked. I kept saying “I should sleep after this chapter,”  but I kept on turning the pages. And by the time I finished reading, it was almost dawn!

————————–

What about you? What’s your A to Z? Leave a comment or a link to your list. I’d be interested to read yours, too. 🙂

8 thoughts on “[Random Babbles] A to Z Bookish Survey

  1. Love that first quote from Tuesdays with Morrie!

    Sucks that you didn’t enjoy American Gods. That one’s been on my to-read list forever, because so many people recommend it, but I’ve had a hard time getting interested in it enough to actually try reading it.

    I skipped some stuff in The Hobbit, too. For some reason, I just hate when there are songs in a book, and so I end up skipping most of them. >_<

    • Thanks for dropping by, Kelley!

      Tons of great quotes from Tuesdays with Morrie. It was a lovely book. Have you read it?

      Sucks, indeed. It was surprising I even managed to finish reading it. I never read anything else he wrote after that. I guess I’m just not into his stories. I’d be interested to hear your thoughts about it, if you ever get around to reading it. 🙂

      Oh yeah! I skipped those parts too. And for some reason, songs in a book make me think of lyres…

      • I haven’t read Tuesdays with Morrie, but I’m thinking maybe I need to add it to my list!

        The only thing I’ve read by Neil Gaiman is Stardust, and I loved it, but it was after I’d after seen the movie. He’s one of those authors that I’ve been meaning to read more of for ages, but just haven’t gotten around to it.

      • Glad to hear it! I hope you’d enjoy reading it as much as I did.

        I’ve seen the Stardust movie in HBO, though I never got around to watching it. Will try watching it sometime. ^_^

  2. Loved this! I have to say that I don’t really have a list like this.

    I read just a little bit of The Lightening Thief and I liked it too. Great voice. So you love crime novels? Have you ever read The Mystery of the Yellow Room?

    This professor likes physical books better too.

    • Thanks! You should try and do the survey too! I’d be very glad to read yours.

      I do like crime novels. I’m afraid I haven’t read The Mystery of the Yellow room, though. Is it good?

      *nods* Physical books rock! I like it old school. 🙂

      • But the professor just doesn’t read that many books!

        I’m not sure. I’ve yet to read it myself. Apparently, it was Agatha Christie’s favorite crime novel. It’s by Gaston Leroux.

        Me too!!!

      • There are several books I can maybe goad you to try. Hehe.

        Oh, is it? Interesting to know that she liked it. That must have influenced her writing somewhat. I’ve only read a few of Agatha Christie’s novels. How about you? I tend to prefer the ones with Poirot.

What do you think?

