[Random Babbles] The Seven Deadly Sins of Reading

I came across this interesting survey from Kelley of Another Novel Read. She tagged everybody so I took the liberty of answering the Qs…

1. GREED – What is your most expensive book? Your least expensive?

I really try to avoid buying expensive books (I try to stick to paperbacks to maximize my monthly book budget). But, there are times of weakness when my impulsive nature takes over, especially when I’ve been searching for that book for quite some time.

Recently, I purchased a hardbound copy of  Seraphina by Rachel Hartman. I had a hard time finding it at our local bookstores, but I got lucky and stumbled upon it. I didn’t want to let the chance go, so I bought it. It cost me about $16. So far, it’s my most expensive purchase (and I hope it’s the last!).

I also buy books at secondhand bookshops. My least expensive purchase was a Nancy Drew paperback, which I got for less than $1! How awesome is that?!

2. WRATH – Which author do you have a love-hate relationship with?

Hmm… Not exactly a love-hate relationship, but it’s the closest thing, I guess. I wanted to read her work mainly out of curiosity, why it’s such a classic; Emily Brontë, who only published one novel — Wuthering Heights. I’ve tried reading it, but I never got past Chapter 1 (or was it 2?). I just couldn’t seem to get into the story. I can’t even bring myself to watch a movie version of it. So I gave up on reading it, I even gave the book away. I wonder if I should give this another chance someday…

3. GLUTTONY – What book have you deliciously devoured over and over with no shame whatsoever?

Lomogram_2013-10-01_10-35-35-PM

The Percy Jackson series! And Harry Potter too! I’ll never get tired of re-reading them. I simply love the story and characters. Nancy Drew is great for easy & light reading (like when traveling or waiting at a doctor’s office, etc.)

4. SLOTH –  What book(s) have you neglected to read due to laziness?

  • Mansfield Park by Jane Austen – My best friend recommended this to me back in college. It’s been several years since then and lazy me still hasn’t gotten around to reading it. When I look at it on my shelf, it just looks so dauntingly thick beside Emma and Pride & Prejudice (See below. Thicker, eh?)

Lomogram_2013-09-22_04-05-55-PM

  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – A friend gave it to me as a birthday present a couple of years ago. I still haven’t gotten around to reading it, too. It makes me feel lazy because it seems so serious. Maybe I should try watching the movie with Gregory Peck first?

Lomogram_2013-10-01_10-09-46-PM

5. PRIDE – What book do you most talk about in order to sound like a very intellectual reader?

Nothing in particular, I think. I’m pretty straightforward in saying I’m not an intellectual reader. I used to kinda know a literature major guy who liked reading William Faulkner and James Joyce, and he always had something “intellectual” to say about their work. I’ve never read their works. I don’t enjoy analyzing a book’s content or anything too deep or too serious like that. So when he’s getting unbearably show-offy and annoying spouting unsolicited deep literary analyses, I think I just countered it with scientific concepts and theories I’ve read in journals and textbooks. 😆 (I was a science major)

6. LUST – What attributes do you find most attractive in male or female characters?

Let’s see… Witty, has a good sense of humor and strength of character, respectful, considerate of others, resourceful, gentlemanly.

– Does Mr. Darcy fit that bill? or maybe Mr. Knightly? Hmm… Maybe, maybe not. I liked those two, though. I also kinda liked Faramir from Lord of the Rings. Percy Jackson was a fun character, too (I love his snarky and sarcastic sides!).

– Eowyn from Lord of the Rings, Balsa from the Moribito series, Elizabeth Bennett from P&P are some of the female characters that I liked. Annabeth from Percy Jackson, Holly Short from Artemis Fowl, and Hermione from Harry Potter were also awesome!

7. ENVY – What books would you most like to receive as a gift?

There are LOTS. The list could go on and on. To mention some, I’ve been meaning to read any book by Nick Hornby (I really liked the movie About a Boy, based on his book of the same title), but I always seem to favor buying other titles/authors when I’m at the bookshop. Perhaps another is The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak — It’s always out of stock, goshdarnit!

Honestly, I very much appreciate books given to me as gifts from friends and family. Such gifts and book recommendations are always welcome, though I can’t always guarantee that I would read them right away (see #4)!

What about you? Care to share and answer the Qs too? I’d love to hear your thoughts. ^_^

5 thoughts on “[Random Babbles] The Seven Deadly Sins of Reading

  1. Very enjoyable read. The professor definitely recommends To Kill a Mockingbird. One of my favorites! I would leave the Austen stuff on the shelf too.

    The professor’s never read a Nancy Drew. Perhaps I should try one….

    • Thank you! I’ll put TKaM near the top of my to-read list, then.

      If you’d like to try, I’d recommend to start with one of the classic Nancy Drew Mystery Stories; they’re alright, though a bit dated. She’s nowhere near Holmes’ skills, but good enough. Just don’t expect too much from the books! 😀

  2. Ooh, yay for picking up Seraphina! It’s definitely worth it; it was one of my favorites books last year! I don’t like analyzing a book too deeply either, so I wasn’t too thrilled about all the James Joyce an ex made me read, either!

    I hope you get your hands on a copy of The Book Thief at some point. It’s such a great book! 🙂

    • Yeah, Seraphina was pretty good. I enjoyed reading it and I’m looking forward to the next book in the series!

      Thanks, I hope so too! 🙂

What do you think?

