[Book Review] An Abundance of Katherines

An_Abundance_of_Katherines_coverTitle: An Abundance of Katherines
Author: John Green
Genre: Young adult
Published: September 2006 by Penguin Group (USA)
The publisher rates it as suitable for ages 12-14 and up
Source: Purchased from the bookstore

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT?

Here’s a description from the publisher:

When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type is girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact. On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy–loving best friend riding shotgun—but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl.

WHAT DID I THINK OF THE BOOK?

I was at the bookstore looking for something interesting to buy when I came across this. I read the synopsis on the back cover and decided it was interesting enough. I was actually deciding between this and The Fault in our Stars (also by the same author), but based on the synopses, this one seemed to have a happier story so I chose to buy this. This is the first John Green novel that I’ve read and I found it to be quite enjoyable. There isn’t a lot of things going on in the story, not a lot of characters to remember, and it’s not too long either. I finished it in one sitting, on a rainy day.

I thought the first few chapters were a bit slow, but things started to pick up when they went on a road trip and arrived in the small town of Gutshot, Tennessee (at chapter 5). This is where the rest of the story takes place. The characters are generally relatable and likeable enough, expressing the typical fears and worries teenagers and grown-ups are facing in life. I didn’t have a favorite character in particular, but if I had to choose, I thought Lindsey was pretty cool.

The concept for The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Probability pops up once in a while, but there’s enough explanation and diagrams to help the reader understand what’s being described. The footnotes were a big help. There’s also an appendix to further discuss the theorem and the concept behind it. Although admittedly, I didn’t spend too much time to try and understand the stuff in the appendix (because math and I, we don’t go very well together). My copy of the book had a few pages containing a short Q&A with the author, and I enjoyed reading that part (apparently, like him, I have a narrow definition of getting dumped, too).

HALT! WHO GOES THERE? It’s age range is marked 12-14 and up. Fair warning, dear readers: There are some swear words and mature themes in this book (like several references to sex and euphemisms for reproductive organs, but nothing too graphic).

TO WRAP IT UP…

It was a pretty good book. Nothing too special about it, but it was a nice and easy read. I think I’ll check out some of John Green’s other works. I certainly don’t regret buying this book. I rated it as 4 out of 5 stars in Goodreads. It’s something I wouldn’t mind re-reading sometime, someday when I feel like I want to be reminded of the story again.

21 thoughts on “[Book Review] An Abundance of Katherines

  1. I’ve read both this and The Fault in Our Stars and I liked this one much more. Take some time to figure out the math stuff. As a fellow math-illiterate, sorting it out really upped my appreciation for the story, believe it or not 🙂

What do you think?